Amotivation, Defeated!

So, guys. I just wanted to share something that has really helped me in the past few months in boosting my motivation and a general wellness in my life, both physical and mental. As many people do know, I have a mental illness that’s not just exclusively bipolar disorder. In this article, I’m going to explain how Habitica can appreciate your mental illness and maybe even improve some aspects of your life. Keep in mind I’m not promising that Habitica will definitely help you, only that I’m showing you how it has helped me ever since I discovered Habitica.

First up, I’m sure you’re wondering what Habitica is. It’s basically a gamified life to-do website program that’s also available on Android and iOS. Habitica enables the ability to level up and earn rewards for doing real life tasks that can be pressed or checked off once you do it. There are three main categories for tasks on Habitica which are Habits, Dailies, and To-Dos. Habits are basically things in life you try to build or break that’s good or bad simply by pressing the negative or positive button. Dailies are tasks that you need to do at least once a day, and it can be weekly or at specific intervals of time. Lastly but not least, To-Dos are basically one-time tasks that can have a date set to show you which one is due first. You can make checklists with To-Dos as well! What I just said is the basics of Habitica. It can take a bit to get acclimated to the ways of Habitica, but if it helps you, then it’s all worth it.

In the beginning, I had severe amotivation and anhedonia that was dragging on for well more than a year, and it meant that I lacked the ability to do basic things even though I did want to. I found Habitica when I was trying to find a good way to kickstart a routine, and what drew me to Habitica was the fact it employed RPG factors such as a level and XP and even mana, all related to what you do in real life. In the beginning, I only outlined what was necessary, such as brushing your teeth at least once a day, brushing your hair, showering, etc. Remember to make it very basic, at least in the beginning. Just look at what you need to do, and think that you can do one at a time. I looked at one and thought it would be better than nothing, so I got up and did it. I then checked the task off, which gave me a reward in the form of XP. I felt like I did something good, and thought it would be good for myself if I tried another task. This kept until I finished everything, and I told myself to pat my back and that it would be okay if I couldn’t do it all next time. However, Habitica helped me so much I kept doing it every day. This is how I got my motivation back. I would be lying if I said that I don’t struggle with amotivation anymore, but Habitica has certainly helped me encourage myself to do more than I expected every day.

I’m grateful for Habitica for allowing me to see my life in a different light and giving me the chance to experience real stability without suffering from negative symptoms.

—–

If you want to check out what Habitica is like, here is the link to Habitica.

Leave a Reply

